Vocalist Libby York's "DreamLand" Highlights Her Trademark Hip Phrasing and Storytelling (Rel. Jan. 20, 2023 on OA2/Origin Records)

LIBBY YORK is not the kind of jazz singer that needs vocal pyrotechnics to engage an audience. Whether she is singing a ballad or swinging a standard, her deep connection to the lyrics and subtle improvisations on the melody convey an intimacy that makes each song feel like she is telling a story about her own life. On DreamLand, York's newest recording, she once again plies her rich, expressive voice to a set of mostly lesser-done standards that highlight her ability to cut to the emotional core of a song. DreamLand is York's fifth CD as a leader and producer. The album follows Memoir (2014), Here with You (2008), Sunday in New York (2003), and Blue Gardenia (1999). DownBeat Magazine gave Sunday in New York four stars and said, "Stylish and cosmopolitan with a broad streak of lush life urbanity, Libby York has a sound that recalls, without any condescension or gratuitous nostalgia, the slightly world weary, been around the block ennui of post war Anita O'Day, Chris Connor and Sarah Vaughan." York is a favorite with many top jazz musicians. Over a 40-year career, she has recorded and performed around the country and around the world with jazz luminaries like John Di Martino, Warren Vaché, Russell Malone, Frank Wess, and many more. DreamLand was recorded in Michigan with local jazz heroes whose fame extends well beyond the Midwest. While her cool style is reminiscent of past legends like Peggy Lee and June Christy, Libby York's conversational style, hip phrasing, superb sense of time, and deep connection to a song's lyrics, show that the art of masterful storytelling is alive and well in the 21st century.



1. Hit the Road to Dreamland 4:15

2. This Happy Madness 5:36

3. Mountain Greenery 3:16

4. Cloudy Morning 4:59

5. Throw It Away 7:15

6. Rhode Island is Famous For You 3:50

7. Still on the Road 4:37

8. When October Goes 4:16

9. Moon Ray 2:50

10. An Occasional Man 4:32

11. Something Cool 5:24

12. It's Love 4:27  






KEITH HALL drums (5, 9, 10, 12)


Produced by LIBBY YORK

Co-produced by RANDY NAPOLEON

write your comments about the article :: © 2023 Jazz News :: home page