Cortez - Williams Project - Hermanos (Blue Bamboo Music)

The musical partnership and friendship between guitarist Chris Cortez and trumpeter Larry Williams go back to the 1980s. The two composers worked together to develop and refine their work and had a big impact on the jazz scene in Orlando, Florida. Their compositions functioned as the backdrop for what was Orlando's version of a loft scene. The presence of world class players, drawn to the area to work at Disney and get off the road, led to a thriving community of top-level players. Cortez and Williams presided over several groups that drew from that well of available players.

Their paths diverged over the years, but they remained focused on their original music. Cortez formed the record label Blue Bamboo Music and eventually resettled back in Orlando to create Blue Bamboo Center for the Arts. Williams became an A-list session player in Los Angeles and released a massive body of work on his own label.

Collaborations were often discussed but the timing never seemed to be right. In 2012 Larry shocked the world when he announced he was retiring from the trumpet. Although he seamlessly shifted to guitar, the loss of his singular voice was a major blow to fans all over the world.

Fate stepped in when Larry's wife Joy passed away and he decided to return to Orlando in the fall of 2020. Shortly after arriving back home Larry had a vivid dream where he was in a club looking down the barrel of a very unusual flugel horn, playing "Moonlight In Vermont." The dream was repeated and one day, while visiting the new music shop of a friend, he walked into the store and found it empty of merchandise, except for a lone flugel horn hanging on the wall. Not just any horn... the horn from the dream. Thus began the journey back to the trumpet. Much to the delight of all, and in record time, the fireworks that we remember are fully back on display.

These two, perfectly complimented by a great cast of musicians, bring out the best in each other.
Tracks, Times, Composer:
1. Hermanos 6:09 (Cortez)
2. Melody Makes It Happen 5:23 (Cortez)
3. Glorious 4:54 (Williams)
4. Un Pedazo De Tu Sonrisa 6:53 (Williams)
5. Ask Me No Questions 4:58 (Cortez)
6. Silhouette 5:11 (Williams)
7. Topaz 5:44 (Cortez)
8. Polka Dot Handkerchief 5:00 (Williams)
9. DJ 1:21 (Dan Jordan)
10. Territorial Imperative 4:18 (Cortez)
11. Building On A Dream 4:32 (Williams)

Label: Blue Bamboo Music
Street Date: January 3, 2022
Add Date (radio): January 10, 2022

Chris Cortez: guitar
Larry Williams: trumpet and percussion
Dan Jordan: tenor sax and flute
Bob Thornton: piano
Walt Hubbard, Jeremy Katalenic, Jeff Sipe: drums
Marco Bojorquez, Doug Mathews: bass

write your comments about the article :: 2021 Jazz News :: home page