There is still time to join us at Jazz Congress

Monday, January 13Tuesday, January 14, 2020 Frederick P. Rose HallBroadway at 60th Street, 5th Floor

Online registration closes this Sunday at 11:59PM ET. You can also register onsite, but we strongly encourage you to register in advance to expedite your check in process.

We are excited to announce that Dr. Barry Harris will be this years Lundvall Visionary Award Recipient. He will receive the award during Monday afternoons keynote session. The award recognizes someone who has demonstrated extraordinary leadership and vision in expanding the audience for jazz and who has made a real difference for the artists, the music and the audience.

The keynote session, The Legacy of Betty Carter, will immediately follow the award presentation. Participants will include Dee Dee Bridgewater; Benny Green; Gregory Hutchinson; Curtis Lundy; Christian McBride, and Kenny Washington. Ren Marie will moderate the session.

After the keynote, everyone is invited to partake in the opening night reception, sponsored by the Saint Lucia Jazz Festival produced in collaboration with Jazz at Lincoln Center.

Musicians participating in Jazz Congress 2020 sessions include:

Darcy James Argue * Jamie Baum * Benny Benack III * Jaimie Branch * Linda Briceo * Dee Dee Bridgewater * Jane Bunnett * Uri Caine * Will Calhoun * Summer Camargo * Terri Lyne Carrington * Regina Carter * Marc Cary * Mayra Casales * Braxton Cook * Roxy Coss * Kurt Elling * Kevin Eubanks * Orrin Evans * Jon Faddis * Nir Felder * Nick Finzer * Benny Green * Russell Hall * Meklit Hadero * Russell Hall * Monika Herzig * Marquis Hill * Gregory Hutchinson * Javon Jackson * Christine Jensen * Sean Jones * Sheila Jordan * Richard Julian * Kokayi * Julian Lee * Curtis Lundy * Rudresh Mahanthappa *Nduduzo Makhathini * Russell Malone * Sherrie Maricle * Ren Marie * Wynton Marsalis *Marilyn Maye * Christian McBride * Charles McPherson * Camila Meza * Allison Miller * Andy Milne * Riley Mulherkar * Ted Nash * Chuck Owen * Samora Pinderhughes * John Pizzarelli * Rufus Reid * Marc Ribot * Karriem Riggins * Ted Rosenthal * Catherine Russell * Bria Skonberg * Nate Smith * Svetlana Shmulyian * Damien Sneed * Somi * Helen Sung * Svetlana * Alexa Tarantino * Brianna Thomas * Camille Thurman * Shirazette Tinnin * Ryan Truesdell * Gerald Veasley * Myron Walden * Kenny Washington * Mark Whitfield * Brandee Younger

Additionally, speakers will include representatives from:

ABKCO * Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater * August Wilson African American Cultural Center * Columbia University * DC Jazz Festival * Earshot Jazz * Fully Altered Media * House of Miles East St. Louis * Institute of Jazz Studies, Rutgers University * ISJAC * Jazz at Lincoln Center * Jazz House Kids * Jazz Memes * Jazz Philadelphia * Jazz St. Louis * JazzWeek * KCSM * KEWU * LunAtico * Miller Theatre * Move and Groove Yoga * New Orleans Jazz Museum * NPR Music * Pittsburgh International Jazz Festival * SFJAZZ * South Arts * San Francisco Traditional Jazz Foundation * Stanford Libraries * Verve Label Group * WBGO * WDNA

About Jazz Congress:

Jazz Congress brings together members of the global jazz community to network and grow the audience for the music. The annual gathering also seeks to nurture businesses and organizations that promote, produce, present, market, and support jazz.

The second annual Jazz Congress, co-produced by Jazz at Lincoln Center and JazzTimes, was held in January 2019 and drew more than 1, 068 attendees from around the world. More than 198 performers, panelists, and speakers participated in performances, workshops, and 45 panel discussions. The 2019 keynote session featured members of Art Blakeys Jazz Messengers, and The Bruce Lundvall Award was presented to Darlene Chan.

write your comments about the article :: 2020 Jazz News :: home page