Herb Alpert Revisits + Transforms Some Of His Most Iconic Songs On ‘Music Volume 3: Herb Alpert Reimagines The Tijuana Brass’

For his forthcoming album 'Music Volume 3: Herb Alpert Reimagines The Tijuana Brass, ' beloved and prolific musician Herb Alpert has revisited some of his most iconic songs with the Tijuana Brass, and transformed them. This reinvention of historic recordings like "A Taste Of Honey, " "Lonely Bull, " "Spanish Flea" and many more were "scrambled up, " as Herb says. A mix of new arrangements, production, new studio takes and in some case even samples of the originals were used to make them fresh and surprising, and a way for Herb to continue sharing positivity with a world in need of it. The album will be released October 19 (Herb Alpert Presents) and finds Herb continuing his partnership with producer Jochem van der Saag.

Several of the songs on 'Music Vol. 3' appeared on albums during an unprecedented run in 1966, when FOUR Herb Alpert and Tijuana Brass releases were on the Billboard Top 10 at the same time. 'Music Vol. 3' begins appropriately with "The Lonely Bull, " Alpert's first smash hit. It includes a surprising mash-up, too - of "Spanish Flea" into "Rise, " two famous songs blended together here for the first time.

Herb and Jochem transport "Work Song" (from 1966's 'SRO') into a slow burning dub groove. The traditional spiritual "Wade In The Water" (from 1967's 'Sounds Like…') has taken a trip to Brazil in its new iteration, featuring vocals by Lani Hall. Herb chose to transform "America" (from 'West Side Story' and included on 1963's 'Vol. 2') into a more lyrical, somber mood because he thought of the song in an emotional way after Hurricane Maria devastated Puerto Rico last year.

Herb's iconic career includes a National Medal of Arts from President Obama, nine GRAMMYs, and five decades of unprecedented breakthroughs as an artist, record executive, and philanthropist. In 2017, Alpert was nominated for yet another GRAMMY (his second nomination in three years). He performed with The Roots and was interviewed by Jimmy Fallon on the Tonight Show, and released two albums: 'Music Vol. 1' – hailed as "life affirming" by AllMusic, and his first collection of holiday music since 1968, 'The Christmas Wish.' Both 2017 releases were #1 albums on Billboard's jazz chart.

He will continue touring through 2018, including a residency at NYC's Café Carlyle and five holiday shows in December in which Herb and his band will present songs from 2017's 'The Christmas Wish' album release. Herb also performed "A Taste Of Honey" and introduced drummer Hal Blaine at the GRAMMY Salute to Music Legends show, which will broadcast on PBS this fall.


1. The Lonely Bull

2. Spanish Flea / Rise

3. Work Song

4. I'm Getting Sentimental Over You

5. Green Peppers

6. Whipped Cream

7. A Taste of Honey

8. Spanish Harlem

9. Bittersweet Samba

10. Wade in the Water

11. El Presidente

12. America

write your comments about the article :: © 2018 Jazz News :: home page