Three Jazz Artists Win 2018 Doris Duke Awards: Dee Dee Bridgewater, Regina Carter, Stefon Harris

The 2018 Doris Duke Artist Awards for jazz will go to Dee Dee Bridgewater, Regina Carter, and Stefon Harris, the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation announced yesterday (June 26). Each artist will receive $250, 000 in flexible funding, along with up to an additional $25, 000 to encourage contributions to retirement savings.

The awards are given to artists working within the fields of jazz, theater, and contemporary dance. Michelle Dorrance and Okwui Okpokwasili will be awarded this year for contemporary dance, and Muriel Miguel and Rosalba Rolón for theater.

"We recognize that the arts … are critically important to our communities, " said Edward P. Henry, CEO of the foundation. "And at the heart of the arts is the individual artist. This award frees artists to be artists by providing them with the financial security to take risks and to make great work."

According to a press release, "The foundation designed the Doris Duke Artist Awards to invest in exemplary individual artists in contemporary dance, jazz, theater and related interdisciplinary work who have demonstrated their artistic vitality and ongoing commitment to their field … While the Doris Duke Charitable Foundation initially conceived the Doris Duke Artists Awards as part of a larger $50 million special initiative that finished in 2017, recognition of the program's importance in helping artists thrive spurred the foundation to cement a place for the largely unrestricted awards in its core strategy to support the arts."

With the 2018 class, the foundation will have awarded approximately $29.625 million to 108 noteworthy artists through the Doris Duke Artist Awards since May 2012. Going forward, the foundation will continue to present up to seven Doris Duke Artist Awards on an annual basis.

write your comments about the article :: © 2018 Jazz News :: home page