Glenn Makos Quartet: "The Michel Legrand Project" - Silvana NYC - April 20

New York based trumpeter and composer Glenn Makos' newest release - "The Michel Legrand Project" - with his quartet reimagines the music of Michel Legrand as Legrand celebrates his 85th birthday in 2017. The genesis of the project was the result of a kitchen renovation. "With all of the construction noise in my house, I had a difficult time writing for seventeen people what was then my current project composing for big band. I've always admired Legrand's music and one morning last summer, I woke up and heard his music in my head. It was a quartet, ironically, without a piano, sort of like Ornette meets Legrand." Before his first coffee that day, Makos sketched four Legrand tunes. He then revisited more material from Legrand's film scores, songwriting and jazz projects. "One of the aspects that I admire about Legrand is his multi-faceted accomplishments. Few musicians can be as successful as a composer, songwriter, arranger and orchestrator, and pianist." Makos assembled dynamic alto saxophonist Craig Yaremko, along with bassist Joe Fitzgerald, and drummer Gene Lewin, both veterans on the New York jazz scene.

CD Release Performance:

Thursday, April 20, 2017
330 West 116 Street
New York, NY 10026
ph. (646) 692-4935

"The Michel Legrand Project"
Glenn Makos - trumpet
Craig Yaremko - saxes
Joe Fitzgerald - bass
Reed Stewart - drums

Track listing:
1. Brian's Song (Legrand) 9:10
2. Once Upon A Summertime (Barclay, Legrand, Mercer, Marnay) 9:40
3. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life? (Legrand, A M Bergman) 8:07
4. Sweet Gingerbread Man (Legrand, M Bergman) 6:55
5. I Will Wait for You (Legrand, Gimbel, Demy) 6:35
6. Watch What Happens (Legrand, Gimbel, Demy) 7:08
7. Pieces Of Dreams (Legrand, A, M Bergman) 10:38
8. The Summer Knows (Theme from Summer of 42) (Legrand, A, M Bergman) 7:40
9. The Windmills of Your Mind (Legrand) 8:09
10. I Will Say Goodbye (Je Vivrai Sans Toi) (Legrand, A, M Bergman) 5:00

Glenn Makos Bio:
As both a leader and sideman, trumpeter Glenn Makos has performed at New York area jazz clubs, including Birdland, The Blue Note, and The Knitting Factory. He recently released his fourth album on Stop Time Records as a leader with his quartet reimagining the music of Michel Legrand, who turned 85 in February 2017. He is joined by saxophonist Craig Yaremko, bassist Joe Fitzgerald, and drummer Gene Lewin. Other projects as a leader include all original compositions on the album "Houston Street", "Now and Again", and "Lapses In Synapsis", all on Stop Time Records.

A co-founder of the nine-piece group, New Jazz Resolution/ NoNoNonet, Glenn served as a composer and arranger. Among his works recorded with the group, Ellingtonesque: Uptown Suite, Veronica Timpanelli of writes that the piece, "is infused with elegance, spicy world flavor, hot sibilant percussion, and traditional style all rolled into one juicy escapade."

He has performed with Cleo Laine and John Dankworth in Bermuda, singer Titilayo Rachel Adedokun in Munich, and Santy y su Son de Cuba in Prague. Glenn has worked with flutist Dave Valentin, saxophonist Danny Weiss, pianists Joel Weiskopf, D.D. Jackson, Brian Jackson, Ehud Asherie, guitarists Rez Abassi and Pete McCann, bassists Boris Kozlov and Sean Smith, drummers Willard Dyson, Steve Davis, Gene Lewin, and Gasper Bertoncelj. He has appeared with the Jamie Begian Big Band, Diane Moser Big Band, as well as with vocalists Liza Minelli, Neil Diamond, Lisala Beatty, Jay Black and the Americans, Al Martino, and Jack Jones. Jazz festival performances include Montreux and Brienz, Switzerland, Terni and Porto San Giorgio, Italy, and twice at the The Festival of New Trumpet Music in New York.

write your comments about the article :: 2017 Jazz News :: home page