Zeshan B Blends Soul & Indo-Pakistani Music On New Album 'Vetted,'

Zeshan B's debut album 'Vetted' - a protest album that combines Indo-Pakistani sounds with classic soul music - is out today via Minty Fresh. Featuring Zeshan Bagewadi - a first generation Indian-American, Muslim, and Chicago native - on vocals and harmonium, the record narrates, through the prism of his parents' immigrant experience, tales of injustice, unrequited love, urban despair and youthful ecstasy.

Watch the video for the "Cryin' In The Streets" that American Songwriter called "an anthem for modern protestors" and Impose Magazine deemed " and emotive":

'Vetted' was recorded at the legendary Ardent Studios in Memphis, TN, and was produced by Lester Snell (Isaac Hayes, Al Green, Mavis Staples), with backing by multiple generations of Memphis session legends including guitarist Michael Toles ("Shaft"), bassist David Smith (Buddy Guy), drummer Steve Potts (Booker T. and the MGs) and backing vocalist Kameron Whalum (Bruno Mars).

Born to Indian Muslim immigrants, Zeshan Bagewadi's musical identity was shaped by his parents' love of Indo-Pakistani music - the film, folk and classical sounds of their homeland. However, his father, having been one of the few journalists in India to cover the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s and 70s, was immensely fond of blues, soul, and R&B music.

These two worlds collide on this new album. Zeshan pours his heart out on 10 tracks and in 3 languages - English, Urdu and Punjabi. Tempestuous soul arias, urban love dramas, Memphis blues, and civil rights anthems are performed with an idiomatically Indian feel - blaring tanpura and harmonium exist alongside hard grooves, delicate strings, and riveting horns.

Watch a live performance of "Ain't No Love (In The Heart Of The City)" on Windy City Live:

Zeshan Bagewadi has performed for President Obama and alongside the likes of Mos Def, A Tribe Called Quest, Rakim, and Aasif Mandvi. He has been covered by the Chicago Tribune, PRI The World, and WNYC's The Takeaway.


1. Lonely Man

2. I'm at the Breaking Point

3. Ain't No Love (in the Heart of the City)

4. What Now

5. Meri Jaan

6. Cryin' in the Streets

7. Hard Road to Travel

8. Prove It To Me

9. I'll Keep Wanting You

10. Ki Jana

11. You Don't Miss Your Water

write your comments about the article :: 2017 Jazz News :: home page