32nd Annual Bistro Awards Gala

Veteran entertainer Maurice Hines, "trans-genre" artist Justin Vivian Bond, comedian Jim David, and musician Paul Shaffer have been set as presenters at the 32nd annual Bistro Awards on Monday, March 13 at 6:30pm at Gotham Comedy Club. Hines, Bond, and David are, themselves, previous Bistro Award honorees.

Maurice Hines's career as actor, singer, dancer, and choreographer began at age five. He and his brother Gregory opened for such artists as Lionel Hampton and Gypsy Rose Lee. When their father then joined them, "Hines, Hines, & Dad" became an internationally successful act, Later he would find acclaim on Broadway, in film, and on television. He earned a Tony nomination for UptownÖ It's Hot! Currently he is touring the country with an autobiographical show, Tappin' Thru Life.

Justin Vivian Bond is a taboo-busting artist and activist and the recipient of numerous accolades during a landmark career, including an Obie Award, a Bessie Award, and a Tony nomination. In addition to stage, film, and recording-studio credits, Mx Bond is the author of the Lambda Literary Award-winning memoir Tango: My Childhood, Backwards and in High Heels.

Montreal's Le Devoir heralded comic Jim David for hurling words at audiences "with surgical skill and a killer's power." The self-described "comedian, actor, writer, DJ, and Professional Smart Ass" has four comedy recordings to his credit. He recently released his debut novel, You'll Be Swell.

Paul Shaffer received an early-career boost thanks to composer Stephen Schwartz, who, after hearing him play, hired him on the spot as musical director for a Toronto production of Godspell (featuring Eugene Levy, Martin Short, Gilda Radner, Andrea Martin, and Victor Garber). Soon he moved on to Saturday Night Live, followed by thirty years as David Letterman's music director and sidekick. He has written hit songs, and recorded with countless artists, from Diana Ross to Yoko Ono to Earl Scruggs.

Shaffer will present the Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award to rock & roll singer Darlene Love. The Bistro Awards Committee recently announced that ASCAP, the performing rights association and longtime Title Sponsor of the Bistro Awards, has chosen to lend its name to this special award. The Award will now read "ASCAP presents the Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award". Harrington created the Bistro Award in 1985. It is the oldest award of its kind in the industry, recognizing outstanding achievement in the cabaret and club community.

The gala event will be held on Monday, March 13 at 6:30 pm at Gotham Comedy Club. 208 W. 23rd Street. Sherry Eaker, the former longtime Editor-in Chief of Back Stage and the producer of the event since its inception, heads up the Awards Committee that includes critics Gerry Geddes, Roy Sander, Robert Windeler, and Mark Dundas Wood. Sander is also the award show's associate producer.

The awards presentation is sponsored, in part, by ASCAP, Tommy and Lisa D'Antonio, and Fr Jeffrey Hamblin. Premium Tickets are $125.00; General Admission tickets are $75.00. Ticket-buyers in both categories are invited to the "After-Bistros" party as guests of the Bistros. For details about the various ticket categories and early purchase prices, visit For additional information, call 917-239-5467.

Following is a complete list of the winners being recognized for their outstanding work:

Darlene Love / ASCAP's Bob Harrington Lifetime Achievement Award
Carol Woods / Enduring Artistry
Jason Kravits / Musical Comedy
Spider Saloff / Ongoing Jazz Artistry
Natalie Douglas / Recording: Human Heart
Matt DiPasquale / Ira Eaker Special Achievement Award
Meg Flather / Vocalist
David Vernon / Vocalist
Lucille Carr-Kaffashan / Theme Show: Unwritten: Celebrating 21st Century Female Singer-Songwriters
Lauren Stanford / Musical Portrayal: Helen Morgan in More Than You Know
Sally Darling / Tribute Show: Totally NoŽl
Courter Simmons / Characterization: Cacophony Daniels
David Maiocco and Chuck Sweeney / Musical Comedy Duo: Lee Squared
Anya Turner and Robert Grusecki / Songwriters
Sam Bolen, Mark Sonnenblick, and Max Friedman / Book Musical: Midnight at the Never Get
Jeff Cubeta / Musical Director

write your comments about the article :: © 2017 Jazz News :: home page