Texas Duo The Ghost Wolves Make Plowboy Records Debut May 27

Carley + Jonathan Wolf named themselves The Ghost Wolves as a symbol of the band's ferocious, primal sound and a nod to Carley's ranch upbringing among hybrid wolves. The married duo are inspired by delta blues, loud garage rock, and American roots music- a genre they call 'stomp and roll.' Their new LP 'Man, Woman, Beast' will be released on Nashville's Plowboy Records May 27.

The Ghost Wolves are known for their infectious on-stage chemistry and raw energy, presenting "face-melting riffs and unfettered noisy productions" (Austin Independent Music) to live crowds across the US (w/ 500+ shows to date). The album was recorded in Austin's Arlyn Studios (where Ray Charles, Willie Nelson, Stevie Ray Vaughan + more have taped) and was mastered by Howie Weinberg (Nirvana, the Ramones, the Clash). Their garage swamp stretches beyond just the U.S., garnering international attention. Rolling Stone Italia raves "They play stomping blues-garage-punk possessed by who knows what kind of demon...their music has just the right overdose of voodoo punk..."

With nothing but a four-piece drum kit and an electric guitar, Carley + Jonny create huge sound. "Gonna Live" echoes modern similarities to The White Stripes. "Baby Fang Thang" showcases Carley's bare-boned electric guitar + devilish vocals. The heavy, femme fatale track "Shotgun Pistol Grip, " recorded on Carley's signature one-string guitar, was recently featured on this season of Shameless.

'Man, Woman, Beast' is the latest release on the Plowboy label, formed by punk legend Cheetah Chrome, professor/music historian Don Cusic and Eddy Arnold's grandson Shannon Pollard. The Plowboy catalog includes new albums by Cheetah Chrome, Buzz Cason, Bobby Bare, Chuck Mead, JD Wilkes & The Dirt Daubers, Paul Burch and an all-star tribute to Eddy Arnold.

Track list here (*including 3 live bonus tracks cut at Converse Rubber Tracks):
1. Shotgun Pistol Grip
2. Gonna Live
3. Baby Fang Thang
4. Grave Dollas
5. Ride The Wolf
6. I Was Wrong
7. Itch
8. I'm Yo Mudda
9. Attack, Attack, Attack
10. Dangerous Moves
11. Lies I Told *
12. White Lily *
13. Mosquito*

write your comments about the article :: 2014 Jazz News :: home page