ridiumlive Releases Albert Lee 'Live At The Iridium' CD?DVD (Out Now)

IridiumLive, the label of historic Manhattan music venue The Iridium, is releasing Grammy-winning guitarist Albert Lee's 'Live At The Iridium' (out now). The CD/DVD package captures Lee and his band in rare form at the home of Les Paul, performing a potent mix of originals and covers by Gram Parsons, Carl Perkins, Delbert McClinton, Ray Charles, and more.

To celebrate Lee's 70th birthday and the CD/DVD release, he'll return with his band for three nights of performances at the club Feb 3-5 with special guest Ramblin' Jack Elliott. "It's always such a pleasure to be asked to play at such an historic venue, " Lee says, "and I hope there will be many more. Along with most of the guitar playing world, I was also a huge fan of the music of Les Paul so it always gives me a thrill to be on, what will always be, his stage." Iridium president Ron Sturm adds, "It is incredible to have one of the world's great guitarists documented at Iridium, The House That Les Paul built. Great guitarists like Albert Lee and Les Paul are in our DNA." Tickets are available at, and the Feb 3 performance will be webcast live at The CD/DVD can be purchased via

Widely hailed for his finger-style and hybrid picking technique, Albert Lee helped to redefine country guitar for a whole generation of players with his song "Country Boy, " and has performed extensively with Emmylou Harris, Eric Clapton, and The Everly Brothers to name just a few.

Deemed "hallowed ground" by legendary guitarist Steve Miller, The Iridium stage has played a part in launching the careers of countless artists, though it may be known best as The Home of Les Paul. Called "The Father of the Electric Guitar, " Paul performed at The Iridium weekly for more than 12 years until his passing in 2009. Today, the Les Paul trio continues on in his honor, showcasing the diversity of the electric guitar every Monday night with world-class special guests that have included Jeff Beck, the Rolling Stones' Mick Taylor, Steve Miller, and Robert Randolph among others. Guitar World called it "the city's-if not the country's-new home of the guitar, " the New York Times dubbed it a "guitar shrine, " and the Wall Street Journal described it as "the small club that welcomes millions" for its regular HD webcasts and recordings for its IridiumLive label.

'Live At The Iridium' Tracklisting:
1. I'm Ready
2. Two Step Too
3. Wheels
4. Evangelina
5. Restless
6. Dreaming As One
7. Runaway Train
8. Luxury Liner
9. Spellbound
10. No One Can Make My Sunshine Smile
11. Leave My Woman Alone
12. Highwayman
13. Till I Gain Control Again
14. Rad Gumbo
15. Country Boy
16. Tear It Up

1. I'm Ready
2. Two Step Too
3. Restless
4. Dreaming As One
5. Runaway Train
6. Luxury Liner
7. Spellbound
8. No One Can Make My Sunshine Smile
9. Leave My Woman Alone
10. Highwayman
11. Countyry Boy
12. Tear It Up

The Iridium
1650 Broadway (51st)
New York, NY

write your comments about the article :: 2014 Jazz News :: home page