Atlantic Walks "Dark Streets"

Atlantic Records has announced the release of "Dark Streets - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack, " the musical companion to the upcoming Samuel Goldwyn Films film noir musical fantasy. The album features original songs performed by an array of soul and blues legends, including Etta James, Dr. John, and Solomon Burke, alongside such new stars as Atlantic recording artists Marc Broussard and Serena Ryder. The soundtrack will be released digitally on November 25th. "DARK STREETS" arrives in selected cities nationwide on December 12th.

"DARK STREETS - ORIGINAL MOTION PICTURE SOUNDTRACK" features original songs written especially for the film by James Compton, Tim Brown, and Tony DeMeur. To perform them, veteran producer/music supervisor George Acogny (Paul Simon, Sting, Peter Gabriel) gathered a veritable who's who of musical masters, which also includes Natalie Cole, Aaron Neville, Chaka Khan, and Richie Sambora. Acogny himself criss-crossed the country to record and produce all 10 tracks with each of the acclaimed artists featured on the soundtrack, capturing the gritty authenticity, raw power and aching beauty of the blues echoed in the film. Additionally, Acogny composed the "DARK STREETS" film score.

A noir fever dream of music, seduction, and murder, "DARK STREETS" tells the story of Chaz Davenport (Gabriel Mann), a dashing bachelor who owns what promises to become the hottest new nightclub in town - if only the lights would stay on. Surrounded by the sumptuous blues music he adores, and with his pick of the gorgeous women who perform their sensual dance numbers onstage every night, Chaz is the envy of every man.

But with the city thrown into darkness by frequent blackouts and a menacing loan shark closing in, Chaz is in danger of losing the club - and far more. At the same time, he finds himself embroiled in a love triangle with the club's alluring star singer, Crystal (Bijou Phillips), and a new arrival at the club - the mysterious and seductive chanteuse Madelaine (Izabella Miko).

When people close to Chaz begin turning up dead, he doesn't know where to turn or whom to trust. And the harder he tries to uncover the truth, the further he's drawn into the darkness of lies and betrayal - a darkness as black as the city's streets during yet another power outage. Welcome to the Blues...

Directed by Rachel Samuels ("THE SUICIDE CLUB") from a screenplay by Wallace King, the film stars Gabriel Mann ("THE BOURNE SUPREMACY"), Bijou Phillips ("CHOKE"), Izabella Miko ("COYOTE UGLY"), Elias Koteas ("THE THIN RED LINE"), Michael Fairman ("THIRTEEN DAYS"), and Toledo ("DON'S PLUM"). The film is produced by Andrea Balen, Claus Clausen, Corina Danckwerts, and Glenn M. Stewart; and executive produced by Steffen Aumueller.

In homage to the blues music which drives "DARK STREETS, " the film's producers will be donating half of the film's profits to The Blues Initiative. This non-profit organization administered by The Baton Rouge Area Foundation will directly aid musicians and contribute to the revival of the cultural and music arts in New Orleans, in the aftermath of Hurricanes Gustav and Katrina.

For additional information, please visit and

Digital Release: November 25th

1. Chaka Khan - "Too Much Juice"
2. Natalie Cole - "Send Me Your Kiss"
3. Aaron Neville - "Life On The Layaway Plan"
4. Marc Broussard - "Lose Somebody"
5. Etta James - "It Ain't Right"
6. Richie Sambora - "Blood On The Ground"
7. Dr. John - "It Don't Make No Never Mind"
8. Serena Ryder - "The Game Of Life"
9. Toledo - "Talkin' To The Devil"
10. Solomon Burke - "Dark Streets"

write your comments about the article :: 2008 Jazz News :: home page