The Naked Brothers Band New Album

Nickelodeon and Columbia Records today announced the April 15, 2008 release, of I Don't Want To Go To School, the eagerly awaited second album from Nickelodeon's top-rated 'tween series The Naked Brothers Band.

I Don't Want To Go To School includes 12 original songs from the second season of The Naked Brothers Band TV series, including the first single, "I Don't Want To Go To School." As with The Naked Brothers Band self-titled debut LP, all music on this new album was written and performed by the shows stars, real-life brothers and musicians Nat Wolff and Alex Wolff, ages 13 and 10, respectively.

The Naked Brothers Band will perform their new single "I Don't Want To Go To School" live for the first time on Nickelodeon's 2008 Kids' Choice Awards, Saturday, March 29 (8-9:30p.m. ET/PT).

Not forgetting their hometown of New York City, fans can get ready for the day-of album release as The Naked Brothers Band celebrate with a live performance on NBC's Today Show on Tuesday, April 15.

The Naked Brothers Band is a kid's favorite coast-to-coast. Season one premiered February 2007 delivering Nickelodeon's highest-rated TV premiere in seven years with kids 6-11. Season two premiered January 21, 2008 with even grander success, quickly becoming the most watched program on TV with kids 6- 11 and 'tweens 9-14. The Naked Brothers Band second season continues to ignite the Nickelodeon audience with a diverse list of guest stars including, famed skateboarder Tony Hawk, comedian George Lopez, Good Charlotte's Joel Madden and Grammy award-winning artist Phil Collins.

The all-new I Don't Want To Go To School album will be available at retail in three formats, with each individual CD package using recycled paper:

- A premium fan-pack featuring 14 new songs, including two bonus tracks
("Tall Girls, Short Girls ... You" and "Changing"), ringtone, fold-out
poster, lyrics, band photos and ConnecteD technology housing a
complete episode of The Naked Brothers Band entitled "County Fair."
- A Wal-Mart exclusive package featuring the above fan-pack content plus
a 30-minute bonus DVD of exclusive behind-the-scenes content.
- A specially priced slip-sleeve version featuring 12 new songs.

All songs on the new album feature music and lyrics written by Nat Wolff, except "Why, " "Three Is Enough, " and "Changing" which were written by Alex Wolff. I Don't Want To Go To School is produced and arranged by Michael Wolff (Nat and Alex's real-life and television dad) and composer Michael A. Levine ("The Simpsons Movie" and "Bee Movie.")

In addition to writing, Nat Wolff sings lead, provides background vocals and plays both piano and guitar on the new album. Alex Wolff plays drums and
provides lead vocals on two of the three tracks he penned for the album -
"Changing" and "Three Is Enough."

For fans that can't wait for the April 15 release of the new full-length album, The Naked Brothers Band I Don't Want To Go To School CD Single exclusively hits Wal-Mart shelves across the U.S. on Tuesday, March 18. The CD Single includes two new tracks, "I Don't Want To Go To School" and "Three Is Enough, " plus "Beautiful Eyes" taken from The Naked Brothers Band 2007 self- titled debut. As a special treat for fans, the CD Single also includes an exclusive The Naked Brothers Band poster.

I Don't Want To Go To School is a product of the development and production partnership between Nickelodeon, the number-one entertainment brand for kids and the Sony Music Label Group and the Sony BMG Commercial Music Group.

The Naked Brothers Band TV series is created, executive produced, written and directed by Polly Draper (thirtysomething) who doubles as off-camera mom to Nat Wolff and Alex Wolff. She was recently nominated for a 2008 Writers Guild Award in the category of Children's Episodic & Specials for the episode titled "Nat is a Stand Up Guy." Celebrated jazz musician/composer Michael Wolff (The Arsenio Hall Show) who is also the stars' real-life dad and Draper's husband, keeps it all in the family but plays against type as the screen tweens' musically inept father and serves as the series' music supervisor/co-executive producer. Along with Draper, Albie Hecht (The Rugrats Movie, The SpongeBob SquarePants Movie, Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events) serves as executive producer of the series in association with Nickelodeon Television. The series, which is shot on location in Brooklyn, New York, launched internationally in spring 2007 on Nickelodeon UK. The series continues to roll out across Nick's 31 channels worldwide, concluding with Nick Holland in February 2008.

Also featured are the Wolff boys' real-life friends and band mates from preschool days: cellist Thomas (Thomas Batuello) and keyboard player David (David Levi), along with guitarist Qaasim (Qaasim Middleton) and bassist - Nat's crush - Rosalina (Allie DiMeco.)

About Nickelodeon: Now in its 28th year, Nickelodeon is the number-one entertainment brand for kids. It has built a diverse, global business by putting kids first in everything it does. The company includes television programming and production in the United States and around the world, plus consumer products, online, recreation, books, magazines and feature films. Nickelodeon's U.S. television network is seen in more than 96 million households and has been the number-one-rated basic cable network for 13 consecutive years. Nickelodeon and all related titles, characters and logos are trademarks of Viacom Inc. NYSE: VIA NYSE: VIA.B.

About Columbia Records: One of the oldest and most respected record labels in the world, Columbia Records traces its origins back to the late 1880s. The Columbia Records roster has boasted such superstars as Marc Anthony, Louis Armstrong, Tony Bennett, Beyonce, Cypress Hill, Miles Davis, Destiny's Child, Dixie Chicks, Bob Dylan, Duke Ellington, the Fugees, Jagged Edge, John Legend, Ricky Martin, John Mayer, Patti Smith, Bruce Springsteen, System Of A Down, Train, Wyclef Jean, Pete Yorn, and many more.

Columbia Records is a wholly-owned subsidiary of SONY BMG Music Entertainment.

About Sony Music Label Group: Sony Music Label Group, a division of SONY BMG Music Entertainment, is a global recorded music joint venture with a roster of current artists that includes a broad array of both local artists and international superstars, as well as a vast catalog that comprises some of the most important recordings in history. SONY BMG Music Entertainment is 50% owned by Bertelsmann A.G. and 50% owned by Sony Corporation of America.

write your comments about the article :: 2008 Jazz News :: home page