ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame Reception 2005

ASCAP President and Chairman Marilyn Bergman announced that ASCAP will add seven music greats to the ASCAP Jazz Wall of Fame at the organization’s New York City offices at a special reception on Wednesday, June 22, 2005. The invitation-only event will be hosted by Ms. Bergman at the ASCAP Gallery, One Lincoln Plaza (Broadway between W. 63rd and W. 64th Streets).
The event will be highlighted by the induction of three ASCAP Jazz Living Legends: composer/arranger Neal Hefti, vocalist/pianist Shirley Horn, and guitarist John “Bucky” Pizzarelli. The latest group of inductees also includes four posthumous honorees: trumpeter Thad Jones, trombonist Jack Teagarden, violinist Joe Venuti and pianist/composer Mary Lou Williams.

In addition, emergent and critically-acclaimed pianist/composer Matthew Shipp will be presented with the newly-established ASCAP Foundation Jazz Vanguard Award.

The reception will also celebrate the third annual Young Jazz Composer Awards of The ASCAP Foundation. The program was established in 2002 to encourage the jazz creators of the future. The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards recognize composers under 30 years of age whose works are selected through a national competition. The judges for the competition were ASCAP members John Fedchock, Frank Foster and Rufus Reid. A list of the award recipients is attached, along with their ages and the titles of their award-winning works.

Commenting on the Jazz Wall of Fame, Marilyn Bergman said, “Jazz is truly the music of America, and like the movies, one of our greatest home-grown art forms. The sheer diversity and magnitude of the individuals we honor this year – among them are composers, instrumentalists and vocalists, each one an innovator – speaks to the richness of this living and endlessly evolving musical genre. ASCAP is pleased to add all of these legends to our Jazz Wall of Fame. And it is most appropriate to couple this salute to jazz greats of the past with a celebration of the jazz of the future via the talented recipients of The ASCAP Foundation Young Jazz Composer Awards.”

Established in 1914, ASCAP is the world’s largest performing – right organization, with over 150,000 active composer, lyricist and music publisher members. ASCAP is committed to protecting the rights of its members by licensing and collecting royalties for the public performance of their copyrighted works, and then distributing these fees to the Society’s members based on performances. ASCAP’s repertory spans the entire spectrum of music – from pop to symphonic, rock to gospel, Latin to country to jazz, rhythm and blues, theater, film and television music. ASCAP’s Board of Directors is made up solely of writers and publishers, elected by the membership.

write your comments about the article :: © 2005 Jazz News :: home page