MONACO CITY HALL 7th International Jazz Soloist Competition

Under the High Patronage of His Serene Highness Prince Rainier III, Monaco City Hall is organising the 7th International Jazz Soloist Competition for all categories of instruments.
Musicians wishing to take part must send an audio tape to: Académie de Musique, 1. boulevard Albert 1er. 98000 - MONACO before march 31th 2005.

The tape must show the participant performing two jazz standards, a theme presentation and improvised number with a rhythmic section. A specialised jury will select the three best competitors for the final evening.
The prize are as follow: 1st 1.500 euros, 2nd 1.000 euros 3rd 700euros.

The name of the winners will be announced in the specialized jazz press. The final phase will take in public on 4th of June 2005, the selected participants will perform three jazz standards their own choice from a list which will be mailed to them with the letter announcing their selection. A rhythmic section (piano, bass guitar and drums) will accompany the candidates during the performance.
The organisers will cover the finalists accommodation costs for the night 3rd and 4th of June 2005, breakfast included. The list of prize winner will be announced, after deliberation of the jury, at the end of the performance. The jury's decision will be final.
Contact : (+377)

1999 winners: 1st Mr Peter BEETS (piano) Netherlands 2nd Mr Mika KALLIO (drums) Finland 3rd Mr Vladimir KARPAROV (saxophone) Bulgaria

2000 winners: 1st Mr Giovanni GUIDO (guitar) Italy 2nd Mr Phil ABRAHM (trombone) Belgium 3rd Mr Luigi GRASSO (saxophone) Italy

2001 winners: 1st Mr Alexi TUOMARILA (piano) Finland 2nd Mr Christian MAUREER (saxophone) Austria 3rd Mr Johan LEIJONHUFVUD (guitar) Sweden

2002 winners 1st Mr Kirk MAC DONALD (saxophone) Canada 2nd Mr Tigran MARTIKYAN (piano) Armenia 3rd Mr Antonio TOSQUES (guitar) Italy

2003 winners 1st Mr Max Vax (piano) Russia 2nd Mr Antoine DAURES (saxophone) France 3rd Mr Bjorn VIDAR SOLLI (guitare) Norway

2004 winners 1st Mr Antoine DAURES (saxophone) France 2nd Mr Alexei FILIMONOV (piano) Russia 3rd Mr Frank WOSTE (piano) Netherlands

write your comments about the article :: © 2005 Jazz News :: home page