Sultans of String Celebrate Refugees and Immigrants on New Album: Refuge

Addressing the struggles of life on Mother Earth has always inspired Toronto-based quintet, Sultans of String. On their visionary seventh album, Refuge, Sultans of String bring their unique brand of musical synergy and collaboration to bear on 13 songs that speak to the challenges facing the world's displaced peoples-their stories, their songs, their persistence and their humanity.

Joined by an international cast, some of whom are recent immigrants to North America, the celebrated quintet immerses themselves in the plight of the international refugee on Refuge, and the humanitarian response that should greet everyone in search of a home.

"This project is centered around the positive contributions of refugees and new immigrants to U.S.A. and Canada, " says bandleader Chris McKhool (ancestral name Makhoul), whose Lebanese grandfather stowed away on a ship bound for North America a century ago.

Band Members:
Chris McKhool: violin, viola, ChinCello, vocals,
Kevin Laliberté: nylon, steel & electric guitars, vocals
Eddie Paton: high strung acoustic guitar, vocals,
Drew Birston: electric & acoustic bass, Moog Synth, vocals
Rosendo 'Chendy' León: drums, percussion, vocals
Turkish String Session: Gündem Yayli Grubu

Track Listing:
1. Power of the Land
2. El Bint El Shalabeya
3. Hurricane
4. I Am A Refugee
5. Ojhri Camp
6. Refuge
7. I'm Free
8. Imad's Dream
9. Weather Update
10. Summer in Tehranto
11. Asi Soy (This is Me)
12. The Grand Bazaar
13. Hypnotica

write your comments about the article :: © 2020 Jazz News :: home page