New Jersey Bluesman seeks to define New Jersey Blues and Roots music with special guests Johnny Sansone,Dave Stryker, Jared Gold, Baron Raymonde

What would Blues and Roots music born in New Jersey sound like?", asks Al Gold, "...may be difficult to define it as uniquely from New Jersey." Band leader, singer/guitarist and NJ resident Al Gold continues, "the world has become a much smaller place; musical boundaries trampled and characteristic sounds have been shared. I'm not calling this a BLUES album… although it's steeped in and rooted in the BLUES, it's options are open and a bit outside of the box. I thought I'd write some tunes and ask some friends to come play… and see who we are".

The place to start was at home, with his band, the Suburban Rhythm Kings. drummer Jerry Cordasco, guitarist Tom Rice and bassman Terry Hemmer have all played music for many years (together and separately in many combinations) and have a unique feel… they like a good groove and as little noodling as possible… they "get in and get out". This has worked well for them as it's separated them from the "pack". They've been fortunate to back up many heavyweights passing through their backyard as well as countless gigs, festivals and appearances on their own.

Joining them on this project, to help flesh out some of this material (and concept), are some wonderful musicians who all live and/or/were based in New Jersey. In alphabetical order: guitarist Mitch Eisenberg, Jazz organist Jared Gold, pianist Eric Heilner, up and coming guitarist/singer Cassidy Rain, saxophonist with Matt "Guitar" Murphy for many years, Baron Raymonde, singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist and Blues Award winner Johnny Sansone, Jazz and Blues heavyweight Dave Stryker, and ROOTS singer/songwriter and guitarist Anthony Tamburro.

Slyly calling his New Jersey based project "Al Gold's Paradise", we asked Al if he'd found the definition he was looking for. "Have a listen!" and then adds, paraphrasing a Johnny Sansone song, "…it's all just Soul with a Delta coating".

"Al's gritty and incisive Americana-Blues songwriting has been a long time in the making. The results are a feast of authentic timbres, grooves, and moods. This hits the sweet spot between Chicago blues and New Orleans funk somewhere on highway 61." —Johnny Burgin, Delmark Recording Artist

Artist: AL GOLD
Artist Website:
Release Date: MARCH 6, 2020
Recorded by: V.d. KING January 11-13, 2019
at Maplehood Studios
Mixed by: V.d. KING
Mastered by: DAVE GROSS at Fat Rabbit Studios
UPC Code: 888295981637

Track listing
1. That's My Baby 4:05
2. Paradise (Downhome) 4:57
3. Tramps Take Linden 2:48
4. Mr. Banker 4:45
5. Ramblin' Pony Blues 3:37
6. Boogie In the Dark 3:24
7. Got A Mind 2:40
8. Won't Sleep Tonight 4:17
9. Paradise (Uptown) 3:41
10. Maplehood Limbo 2:02
All songs by Al Gold except 5. (A. Gold, P. A. Greenbaum)

Musicians: AL GOLD: Vocals, Electric and Slide Guitar, Mandolin, JERRY CORDASCO: Drums, Percussion, MITCH EISENBERG: Electric, Acoustic and Baritone Guitar, JARED GOLD: Organ, ERIC HEILNER: Piano, Organ, TERRY HEMMER: Bass Guitar, Vd King: Bass, Guitar CASSIDY RAIN: Vocal and Acoustic Guitar, BARON RAYMONDE: Sax, TOM RICE: Electric Guitar, JOHNNY SANSONE: Harmonica, DAVE STYRKER: Guitar, ANTHONY TAMBURRO: Acoustic Guitar

write your comments about the article :: © 2020 Jazz News :: home page