Willie Oteri Announces New Project and New Releases

Narratives Vol. 2 by Willie Oteri's Dark Matter Horns is the second second to focus on Oteri's tenor sax and flute work. He is joined here by long time friend Dave Laczko on trumpet and veteran Austin drummer Steve Mankenberg. Recorded live in studio using only 4 tracks. This is totally improvised music that will appeal to fans of Free Jazz, Avant Garde and Experimental styles as well as to fans of more melodic acoustic jazz meditations.

O'clock is a project conceived a few years ago by Ricardo Acevedo and is now in full function mode with several singles to be released during the year as well as a tour of Italy and other parts of the EU. The Nip and Riot in the Meadow (for Donnie) are the first singles by the duo O'clock Oteri on sax and flute and LCM Richard Acevedo on keys and programming. This is Jazztronica sometimes referred to as Nu-Jazz and distributed as Acid Jazz.

Oteri has albums to his name playing guitar and Tenor Sax, with some very fine musicians including, Scott Amendola, Giko Pavan, Tony Levin, J.A. Deane and others, 1999s Jazz Gunn Concepts of MateMaToot featured A-Team players Brannen Temple, Michael Malone, Chris Maresh, and second guitarist Chris Tondre, the uniquely original 2003 release Spiral Out produced by Ronan Chris Murphy which featured prog rockers Tony Levin, Pat Mastelotto and Mike Keneally in a free improvised jazz setting with trumpet master Ephraim Owens, two critically acclaimed Avant-Garde WD-41 albums followed with electric trumpet player Dave Laczko, the second incorporating the talents of Dino J.A. Deane with drummer Scott Amendola and Shrunken Head Shop taken from a series of live recordings from a tour through Germany.

Lost Cat Magnet aka Ricardo Acevedo has been creating electro prog, avant new wave, trance groove music, Nu-Jazz for nearly 40 years. He was a leading member of west coast and southwest musical acts Freaks Amor, The Blue Box, Second Culture and Cup all through the 80's and 90's.

Always driven to reinvent and create, Oteri is now focusing on sax and flute.

Personnel for Dark Matter Horns:
Willie Oteri Tenor Sax. Live loops and Flute
Dave Laczko Trumpet effects and live loops
additional tracks: Steve Mankenberg Drums

Personnel for O'clock:
Willie Oteri Tenor Sax and Flute
Lost Cat Magnet (Richard "Ricardo" Acevedo) - Keys and Programming

write your comments about the article :: 2019 Jazz News :: home page