Cory Henry & The Funk Apostles Debut LP 'Chapter 1: The Art of Love' Set For Release on September 15th

Brooklyn native Cory Henry & the ecclesiastically-titled Funk Apostles will self-release their debut album as a group, 'Chapter 1: The Art of Love, ' on September 15th.

The New York Times exclusively released their lead single "Trade It All, " a vulnerable, honest account of the sacrifices Cory would make for a lover.

Recorded between Williamsburg, Brooklyn's Studio G and Los Angeles' Bedrock studio, 'Chapter 1: The Art Of Love' was tracked live to tape in an effort both to capture the inimitable energy of the band's live shows and to channel the warm analog vibes of the 1970's. Several tracks are actually first-take recordings, and while Henry may be renowned for his gifts as an improviser, the album serves as a showcase for his skills as a songwriter and producer, rich with arrangements and memorable hooks.

The nine-song collection features a trove of gems that flaunt Cory's ability to blend gospel, R&B, funk and jazz and highlight his musical influences: Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, Marvin Gaye, Jimi Hendrix, James Brown and Prince. The driving, funky "In The Water, " combines a relentlessly pulse-pounding rhythm section groove with swirling synthesizer underneath Henry's insistent, charismatic vocals. Like much of the album, the song is an examination of L-O-V-E beyond just the romantic sense of the word: what it means, what it takes, what makes it last. Henry zooms out to take a big picture look at a world that seems to be sorely lacking in it. Album highlight "Find A Way" is an anthem to making life better through compassion and empathy, "Give Me A Sign" is a blues and gospel-tinged love letter to music itself, and the punchy "Takes All Time" is Henry's true-life account of his journey to manhood, his "testimony to love and not rushing to find it."

The Funk Apostles, comprised of five musicians (Adam Agati, Guitar; Taron Lockett, Percussion; Nick Semrad, Keyboard; Sharay Reed, Bass), were hand-picked to bring Cory's musical concepts to life and have played with the likes of Lauryn Hill, Patti LaBelle, Erykah Badu & Aretha Franklin. Cory recently wrapped an international run of dates with The Funk Apostles and announced their 7-city 'Cali-Vibes' Tour 2017 will kick off on Saturday, September 30th at San Diego, CA's Casbah.

Henry's dynamic and improvisational performances has earned him features on NPR's All Things Considered, New York Times Live, and Billboard. Recently, Jimmy Fallon went to see him at the Jazz Standard in NYC, was blown away and invited him to sit-in with The Roots on The Tonight Show:

Track listing for 'Chapter 1: The Art of Love'

1. Trade It All

2. In The Water

3. Love Will Find A Way

4. Just A Word

5. Our Affairs

6. Takes All Time

7. 'Til We Die

8. Give Me A Sign

9. Free

Cory Henry & The Funk Apostles Fall Tour Dates:

9/30 - San Diego, CA - The Casbah

10/1 - Santa Ana, CA - Constellation Room

10/2 - San Luis Obispo, CA - SLO Brewing Company

10/4 - Santa Barbara, CA - UCSB Campbell Hall

10/5 - West Hollywood, CA - Troubadour

10/6 - San Francisco, CA - The Independent

10/7 - Pioneertown, CA - Pappy & Harriet's

write your comments about the article :: 2017 Jazz News :: home page