Nagel Heyer Records Presents Marty Elkins' Walkin’ By The River Featuring Howard Alden

Mentored by piano great Dave McKenna, tutored by the legendary Ann Marie Moss and supported by musical alchemist Allen Toussaint, Marty Elkins is fulfilling dreams - those of her own, and those of the fans who always knew she was a New York talent deserving much wider recognition. Her new record, Walkin' By The River, affirms everyone's belief; it finds Elkins interpreting a host of American Songbook standards. It is her third release on the German Nagel-Heyer label.

"I wanted to gather the songs that meant the most to me, " the vocalist says, "tunes that feel timeless. My aim was to give them a shiny new coat and offer all a new way of hearing them."

On Walkin' By The River Elkins tackles some traditional gems that harken across the decades ("Runnin' Wild, " "Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea, " "Is You Is Or Is You Ain't My Baby, "), as well as less traveled tunes delivered with a twist ("Garbage Can Blues, " "Down To Steamboat Tennessee, " I'll Wind.").

Throughout, she proves herself a songbird with heart, endowing these songs with lessons learned from the greats, from the likes of Billie Holiday, Bessie Smith and Louis Jordan.

"Everything I've ever heard goes into my singing, " Elkins continues, "as if the sound of the classic singers AND the sound of their records live inside me. I like to draw on that for inspiration."

The evidence can be heard on Walkin' By The River. It is Exhibit A for her case: the artists who deserve wider recognition might just get it.

"Her voice has a glowing roundness." - Downbeat Magazine

"She knows how to ride a melody." - Cadence Magazine

"Marty Elkins runs her own voodoo down." - Stanley Crouch


01 If I Could Be With You (4:51)
02 Runnin' Wild (3:23)
03 Is You Is or Is You Ain't My Baby (5:24)
04 Garbage Can Blues (3:09)
05 When My Sugar Walks Down the Street (3:31)
06 Don't Let the Sun Catch You Cryin' (5:20)
07 There'll Be Some Changes Made (3:18)
08 Down To Steamboat Tennessee (5:38)
09 Comes Love (5:52)
10 Ill Wind (4:40)
11 I'll Never Be the Same (5:05)
12 Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea (4:55)
13 Walkin' By the River (6:00)


Marty Elkins - Vocals
Jon-Erik Kellso - Trumpet
Howard Alden - Guitar
Joel Diamond - Hammond C3 Organ
Steve Ash - Piano
Lee Hudson - Bass
Taro Okamoto - Drums


Located in Hamburg, Germany, the label's mission is to present the finest in modern and mainstream jazz. Nagel Heyer's recent catalogue includes recordings by jazz greats such as Marc Copland, Wycliffe Gordon, Eric Reed, Greg Osby, Clark Terry, Donald Harrison, Bill Charlap, Terell Stafford, Harry Allen, Buck Clayton, Ralph Sutton, Howard Alden, Bob Wilber and Warren Vaché amongst others.

write your comments about the article :: © 2016 Jazz News :: home page