The Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame Foundation announced the inductees for 21st Annual Induction Ceremony. The following artists will be inducted at the Twenty-First Annual Induction Ceremony, which will be held Monday, March 13th 2006 in New York at the Waldorf Astoria Hotel:

Black Sabbath – (Geezer Butler, Tony Iommi, Ozzy Osbourne and Bill Ward) Formed in Birmingham, England in 1968, Black Sabbath stands as the premier purveyors of heavy metal. Enormously influential, the group’s songs dealt with black magic, Satanism, apocalypse, death and destruction.

Blondie – (Clem Burke, Jimmy Destri, Nigel Harrison, Debbie Harry, Frank Infante, Chris Stein, Gary Valentine) Formed in New York City, Blondie is one of the most successful rock and roll bands to emerge from the late Seventies New Wave scene. Fronted by Debbie Harry, Blondie’s eclectic hit-making sound flirted with salsa, funk, disco, reggae and rap and their 1979 Parallel Lines record, featured the hit “Heart of Glass.”

Miles Davis – Miles Davis was one of the 20th Century’s most creative artists changing the sound of popular music many times in his six decade career. His musical experimentation beginning in the late 60’s created a fusion of jazz with rock and roll, soul, funk and hip hop.

Lynyrd Skynyrd - (Bob Burns, Allen Collins, Steve Gaines, Ed King, Billy Powell, Artimus Pyle, Gary Rossington, Ronnie Van Zant, Leon Wilkeson) Lynyrd Skynyrd was one of the most commercially successful and critically acclaimed Southern Rock groups of the 1970’s. Their distinctive triple-lead guitar sound made their songs “Freebird, ” and “Sweet Home Alabama” American anthems and staples of FM radio.

Sex Pistols – (Paul Cook, Steve Jones, Glen Matlock, Johnny Rotten, Sid Vicious) Over the course of their short and turbulent career, the Sex Pistols released a single album – Never Mind The Bollocks, Here’s the Sex Pistols – that ranks as one of the most important rock records ever released. The album changed the course of rock and roll kicking the British punk movement into high gear.

In addition, the following will be inducted in the Lifetime Achievement Award in the Non-Performer category:

Herb Alpert & Jerry Moss – These two visionary men founded A&M records in Los Angeles in 1962. Starting with a few hundred dollars in pooled resources, Alpert and Moss built one of the most successful independent records labels in the world. Artists that were signed to A&M include: Procol Harum, Supertramp, Peter Frampton, Free, the Police, Joe Jackson, the Neville Brothers, Captain Beefheart, John Haitt, The Flying Burrito Brothers, Cat Stevens and Alpert’s own group the Tijuana Brass.

write your comments about the article :: © 2005 Jazz News :: home page