Jazz, Soul, R&B Vocalist Sidney Jacobs' "IF I WERE YOUR WOMAN"

Many people will undoubtedly think that IF I WERE YOUR WOMAN is an attention-grabbing and curious title for an album by a male singer, but vocalist, songwriter, arranger, and producer SIDNEY JACOBS is an exciting performer who likes to experiment and is not afraid to take chances. On IF I WERE YOUR WOMAN, he lends his rich, baritone voice to straight-ahead and R&B-inflected jazz tunes that are usually sung by or identified with women. The songs are a daring mix of standards, Jacobs’ originals, and pop/R&B songs. IF I WERE YOUR WOMAN is Jacobs’ second album. It follows First Man, which rose to 34 on the JazzWeek chart and received many accolades, including an honorable mention by Ted Gioia as one of the best CDs of 2017. The concept for IF I WERE YOUR WOMAN grew from one of Jacobs’ live performances when he sang “I Feel Pretty” just for fun. The audience loved it and he decided to record a whole album that shines a new light on female-oriented songs. As he began exploring this theme, Jacobs says, “I wanted to create a different listening experience and find songs that had personal relevance to me and songs that marked some very specific times in my life.” As a composer and arranger, Jacobs’ music has a syncopated, polyrhythmic feel underlying richly constructed harmonies. There is a hint of gospel, classical, soul, folk, and R&B in his music and it is cohesive and seamless. As a singer, Jacobs has fluid control of dynamics and phrasing, and he finds the emotional center every time. Although it can seem a bit surprising at first, the entire album hangs together beautifully with Jacobs’ smart interpretations and musical sensibilities. It takes an artist with the sense of daring, emotional maturity, and chops of Sidney Jacobs to pull it off so convincingly.


SIDNEY JACOBS vocals, additional keyboards & percussion


SOLOMON DORSEY electric & acoustic bass

JOSH JOHNSON alto sax & flute


JOSH NELSON piano & keyboards

GREG POREE acoustic guitar

NOLAN SHAHEED trumpet & flugelhorn




RON FEUER additional keyboards


1. We All 0:30

2. On a Clear Day 5:52

3. Facts 5:03

4. Weave the Tale 3:24

5. Stay Up 0:24

6. Like a Star 4:22

7. Know 0:36

8. I Feel Pretty 5:55

9. I’m Coming Back 6:32

10. Until You Come Back to Me 3:07

11. Human Typography 1:45

12. Been So Long 4:45

13. Light 3:51

14. A Little Bit 0:32

15. If I Were Your Woman 4:40

16. Conversations with Mom 1:22

Produced by Sidney Jacobs

Co-produced by Ron Feuer
press contacts

Mouthpiece Music

(310) 993-4017

© 2007