press room
press service
trade fairs
useful links

Musac wins Mies van der Rohe 2007 Award

The European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture Mies van der Rohe Award 2007 has been granted to the Musac - Contemporary Art Museum of Castilla y Leon, Spain by Luis M. Mansilla and Emilio Tunon/Mansilla + Tunon. The jury, chaired by Richard Burdett, visited the seven finalists works before coming to their decision regarding the laureat of the Award for this edition. In making their decision to grant the Award to the Musac the jury praised the tectonic clarity of the building and the intelligent realisation of the programme. The jury appreciated the conceptual basis of a series of flexible interior spaces that deal effectively with the challenges of exhibiting contemporary art.

The Emerging Architect Special Mention goes to Matija Bevk and Vasa J. Perovic/Bevk Perovic arhitekti for their Faculty of Mathematics in Ljubljana, Slovenia.

On May 14, 2007, the laureats will be presented with their awards at the granting ceremony at the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona at 19:30h. Prior to that, at 17:00h, the architects will give a lecture presenting the Musac. This year the Foundation will be celebrating the 10th anniversary of the Award with a round table meeting with previous Award winners.

write your comments about the article :: 2007 Construction News :: home page